AI-written summary of reporting by Marijuana Moment. No human editor reviewed this. AI can misread or omit facts — read the original, linked below.
ABSTRACT

Alabama's second medical cannabis dispensary opened Friday in Talladega, operated by Callie's Apothecary, the same company that runs the state's first dispensary in Montgomery, which opened in June.

Alabama's second medical cannabis dispensary opens in Talladega

Alabama's second medical cannabis dispensary opens in Talladega

Alabama's second medical cannabis dispensary opened Friday in Talladega, operated by Callie's Apothecary, the same company that runs the state's first dispensary in Montgomery, which opened in June.

Context

The Montgomery location opened five years after the Legislature approved a medical cannabis program and after multiple rounds of litigation over the licensing process. The store reported approximately $15,000 in sales during its first week, and more than 800 patients have made over 1,300 transactions there, according to a statement from the Alabama Medical Cannabis Commission (AMCC).

Once the first round of licensees are fully operational, 12 dispensaries will operate across the state among four companies. Three companies — CCS of Alabama, LLC, GP6 Wellness, LLC, and RJK Holdings, LLC — currently hold licenses. A fourth license is pending litigation but is likely to go to Yellowhammer Medical Dispensaries, LLC, according to the AMCC statement.

GP6 Wellness expects to open BamaBloom dispensaries in Athens and Birmingham in September, with a third location planned for Etowah County. CCS of Alabama expects to open a third Callie's Apothecary location in Bessemer in September. RJK Holdings has locations planned in Oxford, Mobile, and Daphne.

Alabama's medical cannabis law, enacted in 2021, permits registered physicians to recommend cannabis for approximately 15 conditions, including cancer, depression, Parkinson's Disease, PTSD, sickle-cell anemia, chronic pain, and terminal diseases. Patients must obtain physician approval and register in the state patient registry before purchasing products. Approved product forms are limited to tablets, tinctures, patches, oils, and gel cubes — restricted to peach flavor — while raw plant material and smokable forms remain prohibited.

At full capacity, the state program will include at least 37 dispensaries, according to AMCC Director John McMillan.

Gaps & Unknowns
  • The source does not state the exact address or hours of operation of the Talladega dispensary.
  • The source does not specify which court or courts are involved in the litigation over the fourth dispensary license.
  • The source does not state the timeline for resolution of the pending litigation involving Yellowhammer Medical Dispensaries, LLC.
  • The source does not state how many patients are currently registered in Alabama's medical cannabis patient registry statewide.
  • The source does not provide a projected timeline for the program reaching its full capacity of at least 37 dispensaries.
  • The source text supplied appears truncated; some material may be missing.
Sources & Further Reading
  1. Marijuana Moment — original

Read the original at Marijuana Moment

Related Coverage